top of page

A little bit about Geni Harms . . .


Geni Harms

"I believe that each client has the capacity

to improve in the ways they desire!" 


Hello! I'm Geni Harms. I'm a clinical social worker who values collaborative work with my clients to create goals and improve quality of life through therapy.


I attended the University of Missouri (Go Tigers!) and graduated in 2014 with my Bachelor's in Social Work (BSW) and 2017 with my Master of Social Work (MSW). Later that year I earned my license and have been practicing clinical therapy since that time.


With my BSW I gained experience with chronic mental illness in the community mental health field. During my graduate career I had opportunities to work with older adults and families through home health and hospice services. I have worked in a hospital setting in emergency care, long-term care and most recently in a primary care setting. In the past five years I have enjoyed providing school-based therapy services for students Pre-K through 12th grade.


Having lived in the Midwest my whole life, I am very aware of the struggles of rural America. I also completed a Multicultural Certificate during my education at Mizzou and have worked with clients of many cultures and beliefs. I am a Certified Clinical Trauma Professional (CCTP) and I have certificate training in CBT (cognitive behavioral therapy) and EMDR (eye movement desensitization and reprocessing). I have practiced primarily as a generalist, with clients of all ages and backgrounds. I use many treatment modalities to help people achieve their goals, depending on client needs and preferences. 


I always use a strengths-based approach because I believe that each client has the capacity to improve in the ways they desire. I also lean heavily toward family systems theory and approaches. I find that when clients are able to be an active participant in their therapy, they find much satisfaction and empowerment to continue their success and growth beyond their process with me.


When I'm not working, you can typically find me outdoors with my husband, kids and animals. Our family operates a small farm with cattle, dogs and our horse. I truly believe in the therapeutic benefit of nature, and try to take advantage of that as often as I can. 

bottom of page